Site best viewed with Internet Explorer Versions 10/11, Firefox, Google Chrome

Milang R-6

  • milang

    Milang Campus is situated in the historic town of Milang on the foreshore of Lake Alexandrina. Our main building is 150 years old and is the oldest purpose built building still being used for education in South Australia.

    There are currently two classes, R-2 and 3-6 providing high quality education with a community focus. Each class has a dedicated Literacy block with two teachers to ensure all students access the curriculum at their level. Specialist subjects offered at Milang include Indonesian, Music, Technology and PE as well as opportunities for students to join the festival choir, learn an instrument and be involved in SAPSASSA sports events.

    Through the hard work and dedication of the Staff, we provide an educational and social environment that nurtures and challenges each child and encourages them to reach their full potential. We achieve this by having high expectations of the students and providing them a safe, happy and trusting atmosphere in which to challenge themselves.

    Our success is built on a strong community of students, parents and teachers, who all value the same high standards of education and creative and intellectual endeavour.

    We see parents as partners in our work and hope you will become very much part of our community and fully involved in your child’s achievements. We look forward to working with you to provide the best possible education for your child in our care.

    Susannah Cook – Head of Campus

    Find Milang Campus here

    Updated May 2017

  • Milang

    Milang Campus Connection

    The Campus keeps in touch with its parent community via a fortnightly publication called the Campus Connection. It contains information about upcoming events at the Campus, reports about Campus activities and a “What’s Happening” section that outlines highlights of the past fortnight from each class. The Campus also has a section in the monthly Milang Community News, which is published by the Milang Progress Association. This enables the wider communities of Milang and Clayton the opportunity to stay in tune with what is happening at the Campus.  2017 Campus Connections

    Milang Campus Connection T4 W4 2017

    Milang Campus Connection T4 W2 2017.

    Milang Campus Connection T3 W10 2017

    Milang Campus Connection T3 W8 2017

    Milang Campus Connection T3 W4 2017

    Milang Campus Connection T3 W2 2017

    Milang Campus Connection T2 W10 2017

    Milang Campus Connection T2 W8 2017

    Milang Campus Connection T2 W4 2017

    Milang Campus Connection T2 W2 2017

    Milang Campus Connection T1 W10 2017

    Milang Campus Connection T1 W8 2017.

    Milang Campus Newsletter T1 W4 2017

    Milang Campus Connection T1 W2 2017

  • Staff – Teaching and Specialist-teaching
    Role  Name  Email
    Principal Ian Kent ian.kent571@schools.sa.edu.au
    Head of Campus Susannah Cook susannah.cook856@schools.sa.edu.au
    Reception / Year 1 / Year 2 Teachers Candice Bennetts candice.milford879@schools.sa.edu.au
      Eileen Love eileen.love822@schools.sa.edu.au 
    Year 3 – 6 Class Teacher Susannah Cook susannah.cook856@schools.sa.edu.au
      Heidi Yard heidi.yard383@schools.sa.edu.au
     Music Natalie Baker natalie.baker36@schools.sa.edu.au
     Indonesian Kaye Grund kaye.grund513@schools.sa.edu.au
     PE Jono Koutsikas Jonathon.koutsikas468@schools.sa.edu.au
    Digital Technology  Tom Bilney tom.bilney819@schools.sa.edu.au
     Counsellor Rebekah Fahey rebekah.fahey170@schools.sa.edu.au
    Front Office & Finance Donna Hodgson donna.hodgson593@schools.sa.edu.au
    Classroom Support Julie Pavy julie.pavy453@schools.sa.edu.au
    SSO I.T Support Steve Witt steve.witt961@schools.sa.edu.au
     Pastoral Care Worker Arthur McKay
    Groundsman Steve Blackeby

    Updated May 2017

  •  

    •  Facilities and Resources  The heritage listed stone building accommodates the administrative area, Head of Campus Office, Library/Resource Centre and staff room. There are two dedicated learning areas currently designated as R-2 and year 3-6 classrooms. Both rooms are double size classrooms. The Campus also has an Art room for Art, Craft, Science and Technology activities. This facility is also used by Play Group which operates once a week on a Tuesday morning. The well kept school grounds boast a basketball court, large oval, sand – pit and a selection of fixed playground equipment and a well stocked Sports Shed. The Milang Old School House Community Centre provides a valuable service to the Milang/Clayton Communities. Members of the community can keep up-to-date with events and activities on offer through the “Village Voice” which is published monthly. Coordinator, Karyn Bradford can be contacted at the MOSHCC on (08) 8537 0687 or e-mail: moshcc@bigpond.com The MOSHCC is an initiative of the Milang & District Community Association Inc.

    •  Student Leadership  School captains are elected by the student body early in the year. These captains are supported by one representative from each year level, forming the S.R.C. This group meets regularly to discuss school issues and plan fundraising activities to raise school funds and money for selected charities. All S.R.C. representatives abide by a role statement:-SRC – Role Statement / Responsibilities. 

    •  Parent Involvement  There are many and varied ways parents and families can be involved in their children’s learning and life at Milang Campus. Parents are welcome in classrooms to help with classroom activities and can contact their child’s teacher to arrange this. Parents are encouraged to attend and help with environmental programs in particular – Junior Youth Environment Forums, Tree Planting Days, Vegetable Gardens and so on. Parents are involved in the Milang Campus Advisory Committe. The committee’s main focus is:

      To discuss the educational needs of the children and programs offered at the Campus
      To become involved in community initiatives
      To make recommendations regarding grounds and facilities development and facilitate working bees
      To initiate fundraising initiatives to support educational programs at the Campus

    • Office Hours
      Monday to Friday: 8:30am – 4:00pm

    • Strong school values of: Integrity, Co-operation, Respect, Care & Compassion, Participation and Responsibility
Last modified: 4 February, 2018