Site best viewed with Internet Explorer Versions 10/11, Firefox, Google Chrome

Langhorne Creek R-6 ~ Welcome

  • Nestled amongst lush vineyards and Red Gum lined creeks, Langhorne Creek Campus has a close and supportive student group. It is a very stable student group with approx 80 children. All students feel very safe in their learning environment and relate well across the year levels.

    Despite its size, a broad and rigorous curriculum is offered with specialist teachers in Indonesian and The Arts. Literacy and Numeracy are foci every day in each class. The campus has a strong focus on ecological sustainability with students and the community involved in a range of excellent programs. The conclusion of each year is celebrated with a quality Christmas concert held for the community where students show their talents in the performing arts.

    The campus is well funded by a supportive school and community, ensuring quality facilities and resources are maintained. The community spirit extends to a huge amount of input from parents into the campus in a variety of other ways.

    Students at Langhorne Creek Campus value their learning because they see their learning valued by the staff, parents and community members through their input and commitment. The campus has strong historical foundations and traditions while being innovative and Futures-oriented.

    Find Langhorne Creek Campus here

    Updated May 2017

  • Langhorne Campus Chatter

    Langhorne Creek Campus has its own newsletter called “Campus Chatter” to keep parents informed about what is happening and what is planned for the campus.
    The “Campus Chatter” is produced and sent home every three weeks of term. The youngest child in the family receives the newsletter.
    Students contribute to the “Campus Chatter” because we believe that their perception of events is the most important.
    More information about the campus happenings is shared in the Eastern Fleurieu School R-12 Newsletter which is distributed once a term.

    Langhorne Creek Chatter Week 9 Term 1 2018

    Langhorne Creek Chatter Week 6 Term 1

    Langhorne Creek Chatter Week 3 Term 1

  • Staff – Teaching and Specialist-teaching
    Role  Name  Email
    Principal Ian Kent ian.kent571@schools.sa.edu.au
    Head of Campus Paul Jude paul.jude460@schools.sa.edu.au
    Teacher Cathy Hunt cathy.hunt576@schools.sa.edu.au
    Teacher Hannah Tilley hannah.tilley800@schools.sa.edu.au
    Teacher Beth Busbridge beth.busbridge51@schools.sa.edu.au
    Teacher Mandy Hopkins mandy.hopkins746@schools.sa.edu.au
    Indonesian Teacher Kaye Grund kaye.grund513@schools.sa.edu.au
    Music Teacher Ashleigh Tarling ashleigh.ellis766@schools.sa.edu.au
    Digital Technology Teacher Tom Bilney tom.bilney819@schools.sa.edu.au
    PE Teacher Jono Koutsikas jonathon.koutsikas468@schools.sa.edu.au
    Front Office/Finance/Library Vicki Schmoock vicki.schmoock809@schools.sa.edu.au
    Learning and Classroom Support Jane Barker jane.barker577@schools.sa.edu.au
    Pastoral Care Worker Jacqui Maynard jacqui.maynard304@schools.sa.edu.au
    I.T Support Steve Witt steve.witt961@schools.sa.edu.au
    Groundsman Steve Blackeby steve.blackeby104@schools.sa.edu.au
    Playcentre Coordinator Natalie Perkins

     

    Updated February 2018

    •  Facilities and Resources Through its connection with the larger school environment and through a community that has a lot of pride in its campus, the grounds and facilities at Langhorne Creek Campus are maintained to a high level. A committee of parents and the Campus Coordinator plan the development of the grounds and organise regular working bees to ensure the are continuously maintained and improved. The campus has 4 general teaching classrooms a specialist Art Room, a sizeable Activity Room and a Resource Centre. The Resource Centre is well set up with a computing suite and up to date student texts. The Resource Centre is also linked electronically to the Library at Strathalbyn 7-12 Campus to allow students and Langhorne Creek Community members easy access to a larger selection of resources. All rooms are air-conditioned. Students have access to computers and interactive whiteboards in each of the teaching areas. The Junior Primary classroom is situated in a beautifully renovated old stone house which allows great flexibility in the way learning programs are presented to the youngest students at the Campus. Students have ample space and choices for their playtimes. The campus has a large oval for our students numbers, that is maintained in immaculate condition by our Groundsperson and dedicated parent volunteers. Students have access to a variety of play equipment as well as sandpits and a fully stocked sports shed that is maintained by student Sports Monitors. The parents and staff of the campus, in consultation with a student planning group, built an extensive fauna enclosure with a variety of birds. This provides students with the opportunity to develop their appreciation of our wildlife, care for the animals and learn about them through direct experience. The campus has a recycling centre that recycles materials from the community. Students have been involved in an environmental restoration project at Mosquito Creek since 1988. This outdoor classroom has provided students with many rich learning experiences and students are involved in monitoring water quality at Mosquito Creek as part of the Lower Murray Waterwatch Program.

    • Student Leadership At Langhorne Creek Campus, we believe that students learn best when they are actively involved in their learning and when their learning is meaningful. The only way to ensure that the learning is meaningful is to consult and involve the students in the learning program. To enhance the feeling of community at the campus also, students are very involved in the planning and development of facilities and resources. Students are formally involved in decision-making and planning through a Student Representative Council, an Environment Committee, Class Meetings and Student Forums. Students are informally involved through effective teaching methodologies. The Student Representative Council consists of representatives from each of the three classes and is chaired by one of these students. They are spokespeople for the students in formal decisions, they make recommendations, plan events and manage some fund raising. The Environment Committtee helps to manage the many environmental projects the campus is in, they collect information and lead students towards greater involvement. This group also attends monthly meetings of the Young Environment Leaders group. Each student is also a member of a student forum. Depending on their interests and passions, students are either in the Sports forum, Sustainability forum, Fauna enclosure forum or the Gardening forum.

       

    • Office Hours
      Monday to Friday: 8:30am – 4:00pm

    • Strong school values of: Integrity, Co-operation, Respect, Care & Compassion, Participation and Responsibility

 

 

Last modified: 29 March, 2018